top of page

The business of Sprouting and Fit4Work online course!

Hope your summer is going well. Mine has been busy with family fun...and lots of writing and research around Fit4Work, which isn't work for me, thankfully! Avocation becomes vocation...


If you missed the grant allocations for Business of Sprouting, have no worries, I am openly sharing the document created for it here and on the website. I've created a little firestorm around it...received a microgrant of $300 from Academy of Prevention and Health Promotion Therapies to promote the Business of Sprouting as a school based business for youth with disabilities, which you can read about here! I had 18 therapists request kits, and sent each at least 2 kits...one for them to practice with and one to give to a key partner. We all know the importance of collaboration and creating shared vision and leadership for successful school programming, hence the reason I sent two. I am hopeful that folks will share their results...the results of which I believe will be fun, practice in vocational tasks and likely math and nutrition along the way.



Registration is open for the Fit4Work online course...all the information is here. I'm excited that we have received Virginia OT Association CEUs, transferrable to other states...even more so I am excited at the opportunity to have you learn about Fit4Work, practice with your students, have shared reflection with your colleagues and create your own Fit4Work programs...although I anticipate you will have other creative ways to name it, package it, and make it your own...once you have the evidence and knowledge of ergonomics, work capacity evaluation concepts and fitness. I have a lot of expectations of what you will be able to do with this information, and how attendance at the course will make you more actively engaged and knowledgeable to support programming that will increase vocational opportunities for youth on your caseload. I feel that as therapists, to be successful in schools, we must serve as that role model for innovation, perseverance and a positive attitude...but this course will provide you with the evidence and moral support...as well as a compass to help you on your way. None of us has to do this alone!


As always, email me if you have any questions!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page